All About Me

In early 2010, I started my blog. I had lost two babies and was pregnant a third time. I hoped and prayed that the third time would be the charm (it wasn’t) and started writing. At the time, the blog was called “Up, Close, & Personal.” I wrote only for friends and family. Heck, I didn’t even know blogging could be more. When I discovered that, I made a few changes and this blog became “Adventures of a Jayhawk Mommy” in 2014. 

This year, I decided I needed to make a fresh start with my blog. I didn’t want to feel limited by my blog name and wanted to feel free to do more than just parenthood posts. So, on January 1, this blog is now known by my name, Denise Geelhart. While I still plan to write about parenthood, I also plan on writing about more personal topics and even some political ones. In addition, I intend on sharing recipes more often. My blog will reflect who I am as a person.

Jayhawk Mommy
Snuggling with my baby at a KU Jayhawk football game

Meet Denise Geelhart, aka Jayhawk Mommy

I’m a 40+year-old stay-at-home mom of three little girls: Gigi (6), Peanut (5), and Sweet Pea (2). I’m married to an amazing man, my favorite meteorologist, Chris. I am a former 1st grade teacher and higher ed professional (basically, I worked in education for 11 years at some level). Since blogging has not brought me any riches, I started selling Pampered Chef  as a consultant to help support my family (okay, give me spending money I don’t feel guilty about having).

In my “spare time,” I enjoy solving mysteries (Okay..reading mysteries or watching them on TV), cooking, and drinking way more caffeine than I should! Basically, I’m doing everything I can to survive the toddler and preschool years. And, in recent months, I began working on a mystery novel that I hope to finish by the end of this year.

My Cast of Characters

These are the people you will hear most about in my blog…

Chris

My lovely husband!

My loving and supportive husband and I have been together since 2008. He is a meteorologist for the NWS. He is my best friend, closest ally, and partner in crime. 

 

 

 

 

Gigi

Gigi with meGigi is a 6-year-old first grader and firecracker! She loves to dance, assert her independence (by yelling and refusing to do anything), and give hugs to everyone. 

 

 

 

Peanut

Peanut

Peanut, my middle child, turned five in November. She glossed over the terrible twos, skated past the threenager stage, and went knee-deep in Fournado country! (And she hasn’t come out of it yet! Did I mention she refuses to use a potty? Ugh.) Despite that, she is sweet, loving, stubborn, and hates to sleep. 

 

 

Sweet Pea

My little Sweet Pea

Sweet Pea is our sweet toddler who will turn three in June. She’s observant, sly, and adorable. Oh, and she doesn’t like to sleep at night. Thank goodness for caffeine!

 

 

 

 

Daisy Mae 

Daisy MaeIn October 2003, I went to the SPCA in Lakeland, Florida and met Daisy, our energetic cockapoo. Daisy was only about 6 months old. I fell in love with her at once. She’s spunky and quite loving.

 

 


For information on working with me or contacting me further, please go to one of the following links:

Work With Me

Contact Me

 

 

Comments

comments


10 thoughts on “All About Me”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: